Non, je ne regrette rien

As complicated as life may seem, as it takes its toll on us. Or as complicated as people may seem, we are all connected by two simple truths: The need and want to be happy and being surrounded by people who love and appreciate us.

There are/going to be thousands of reasons and things that will deflect us and distract us from these truths. Either; things from within ourselves, the choices we make out of love, out of our own selfish reasons or even out of fear, as well us what we choose to focus on day in day out. Our emotional blindspots will sometimes invalidate our emotions as our best compass.

While it all seems so easy and simple, humans have the tendency to complicate things. But it all comes down to these two inevitable questions: Does this make me happy? And do these people in my life leave me feeling better or worse? The answers are always within us. It’s something we already know without a doubt.

But these truths can be scary and complicated as we are scared of change. We are scared of changing something that has become our comfort zone as we are not ready for the ambiguity of what lies ahead. But the reality is, we aren’t supposed to be unhappy nor are we supposed to remain in unhappy circumstances surrounded by people who leave us emotionally drained and depleted.

We weren’t put into this world to live mediocre lives, hence we shouldn’t be comfortable being mediocre. Just because we are scared of walking away from it all, scared of what the society will think of us for abandoning everything and chasing that which makes us happy. We need to realize that we cannot control the reactions of others. However, although people may initially react when we change and want more from life, in the end, they would understand why we had to do what we had to do.

This leaves us with the question, are we brave enough to face the uncertainty of what lies ahead and make that shift towards the kind of life we desire and deserve?

Or are we waiting for the torment at the end of our journey, when our life is almost over, and we look clearly back on it and see how many dreams have gone unfulfilled. And how unhappy we were. All we will be left with will be regrettable statements such as: I wish I would have followed my heart, I wish I had the courage to express my feelings, I wish I would have fought for him/her, I wish I would have quit that job, I wish I would have traveled more, laughed more, I wish I hadn’t worked so hard.

All these regrets constitute to a mediocre existence because of suppressed feelings trying to keep peace with others, preventing us from becoming who we are truly capable of becoming.

Many people fail to understand that happiness is a choice. Most people get stuck in old patterns and habits for comfort of familiarity. This leaves them pretending to others, to themselves that they are content. When deep within, they long to laugh again and have silliness in their life again.

Life is a choice. It is YOUR life. Choose consciously, choose wisely, choose honestly. Choose happiness.

At the end of my journey, when its all said and done, Like Frank Sinatra’s “Did it my Way”

Or even Edith Piaf’s “Non, rien de rien, non, je ne regrette rien”,

I want to proudly say: I did it my way and with no regrets!

Leave a comment